2017/2018 Chinese Government Scholarship (Bilateral Program) ( Deadline: 24 Mar. 2017 )



At the 18th ASEAN-China summit held in Kuala Lumpur on Nov. 21, 2015, Chinese Premier Li Keqiang made a commitment that China will increase the number of government scholarships for ASEAN countries by 1,000 in the next three years. Thus, China is offering additional 50 scholarships for Malaysia beginning 2016. The scholarships are offered under the Chinese Government Scholarship-Bilateral Program (Malaysia), as follows:

  • General/senior scholar programs
  • General or senior scholar/undergraduate/master/doctoral programs


1. Applicant must be a citizen of a country other than the P. R. China, and be in good health.

2. Academic and age requirements:

  • High school graduate, aged 25 or below for application of undergraduate programs;
  • Bachelor’s degree holder, aged 35 or below for application of master’s programs;
  • Master’s degree holder, aged 40 or below for application of doctoral programs;
  • Have completed at least two years of undergraduate study, aged 45 or below for application of general scholar programs;
  • Master’s degree holder or an associate professor or above, aged 50 or below for application of senior scholar programs.

3. Language Requirement:

Undergraduate study is conducted in Chinese in China. Those enrolling for undergraduate study must take a one academic year Chinese language/preparatory course. Applicants with HSK Certificate ( Level 5 and above ) or from secondary schools where medium of instruction is Chinese ( Malaysian Independent Chinese Secondary Schools ) will be waived from the one-year Chinese language course.

Postgraduate study is generally conducted in Chinese. A number of education institutions conduct some programs in English. Graduate students and non-degree students can choose programs taught in English or Chinese. ( Please refer to http://www.csc.edu.cn/laihua  or http://www.campuschina.org for selection of universities and programs ). Scholarship recipients of programs taught in Chinese without adequate Chinese language proficiency are required to take a Chinese language course: one academic year for those pursuing Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine ( Western Medicine ), Economics, Management, Legal Studies and Fine Art; not more than 2 academic years for those pursuing Literature, History, Philosophy and Chinese Medicine. Scholarship recipients of programs taught in English or with adequate Chinese language proficiency ( with valid HSK certificate ) are not required to take the Chinese language course.

Number of Awards:

General/senior scholar programs -10 awards
General or senior scholar/undergraduate/master/doctoral programs – 50 awards

Application & Enquiries:

Application can be made in Chinese or English. Further details can be obtained from http://www.csc.edu.cn/laihua.  Email for enquiries: edu_malaysia@sina.com.

A total of 279 Chinese universities have been designated by MOE of China to accept Chinese Government Scholarship students. For further details on universities and programs, refer to http://www.csc.edu.cn/laihua  or http://www.campuschina.org.  .

Application is made via online registration and the completed application form with necessary documents need to be submitted in duplicate to Cultural Office, Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in Malaysia by 24 March, 2017 at 229 Jalan Ampang, 50450 Kuala Lumpur ( delivery in person will not be accepted ), with “Chinese Government Scholarship Application” marking on the envelope.

Application documents required include: highest education qualification, transcripts, a study plan or research proposal ( minimum of 200 words for undergraduates, 500 words for non-degree students, and 800 words for postgraduates ), recommendation letters, health certification and HSK Test Report.


Written by:
Ms Wee Hui Bieh, AFMSA, Feb. 2017

Information Source:
Official website of Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in Malaysia.

This post is also available in: zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))